A Brief Account
Built by the English aristocratic family, the De Veres, their family crest included a blue boar, ‘verres’ being the Latin word for boar. Find out more about the history of this unique building here.
Dating back to the 14th century, the oldest part of the complex is the timber-framed range immediately to the left as one passes through the coaching archway from Silver Street. Sometime before 1536, John Church, lawyer to the De Veres family and bearer of the family seal, acquired the building, then known as Crosse’s Great Tenement after John Crosse, its builder. Church extended the building and renamed it ‘The Blue Boar.’
John de Vere, 13th Earl of Oxford, being one of the great men of the King’s Henry VII’s regime, commanded the Kings army at Battle of Bosworth. Leading his troops to victory more than once, the family remained close friends, with it being rumoured that King Henry VIII subsequently visited the Blue Boar on occasion.
By 1572 the hotel was run by the wool merchant Thomas Furnes, the first recorded landlord for the inn. Mr Furnes was later revealed to be using the hotel to smuggle wool into the UK. In the 1750’s the Blue Boar was a stopping off point for the Maldon stage ‘fly’, a coach which ran between Southminster and London and by the turn of this century the Blue Boar was one of the principle coaching inns in the town.
Inside the inn much of the original timber framing is still on show. In the main range fronting onto Silver Street is a room (now The Blue Room) panelled in 17th century Jacobean oak. Also to be noted is the 13th Century church of All Saints which faces the front of the Blue Boar, unique in it’s being the only tower of triangular plan form in this country.
Leading into the 20th century and the dawn of the First World War, the Blue Boar was also used to house many passing soldiers. Through the decades the hotel remains standing, and even the Great Storm of 1987, which resulted in the roof caving in, couldn’t bring it down.
Thanks to the Facebook page Maldon and Heybridge Memories/History, we now have access to this charming collection of photos of the Blue Boar from the 1920s. It’s an insightful gaze into our history looking through these pictures.
All photos © Historical England